The Beginning of a Journey

Remember 2013 and that amazing 30% market return? I was lucky enough to have invested in the stock market in January of that year. And I do mean lucky. Back then, I was a high school junior, and I knew nothing about investing. My dad recommended that I buy a mutual fund that tracks the stock market, but I wanted to pick individual stocks. I’ve always been a do-it-yourselfer. But my stubbornness cost me. Instead of earning 30%, I almost earned 15%. Not bad in absolute terms, but utterly terrible compared to the S&P!

I suppose in light of results like those, most people would throw up their hands, follow dad’s advice, and let the “smart money managers” do the work. I, however, have never been good at accepting defeat. Little did I know that my underperformance in the 2013 stock market would change the course of my life. Since then, I’ve read over 35 investing books, spent countless hours on investopedia, and I’m one year away from earning a finance degree. I have dedicated myself to the art of investing. I’ve learned a lot, and I now feel comfortable considering myself a great investor. Year to date, I’ve earned a 22% return compared to the S&P’s 3%. Luck? Perhaps. Only time will tell.

I’m now embarking on a new journey, one that I hope will be equally rewarding – writing my own blog. Through it, I hope to share my insights, investing philosophy, and beliefs with you. I’m going to share my successes and failures – the times I chose winners and the times I chose losers. My hope is that it will serve as a resource to you and provide me with another way to express my love of investing.

Leave a Reply

